Film - Theatre - Music/Dance - Books - TV - Gallery - Art - Fashion/Lifestyle - Video

Cannes 2021: It’s a wrap – looking back at the best and full list of award winners and comments…

Seen our reviews and interviews – what do you like the most – comment via the Facebook link or on Youtube…?

THIS film of ours is our last on Cannes 2021 and brings the curtain down on the main coverage of the festival.
In this we discuss the films and some of the people who were in Cannes too (clue see the thumbnail)
We will be returning to some of the films, especially when they get release dates.
A special thanks too to the Cannes 2021 team – Brigitte Leloire Brigitte Leloire Kérackian, Natalie Barrass, Harry Clegg, and Suman Bhuchar, acv associate editor.

It just leaves us to say thanks for watching and all your support – every time you watch you get us closer to getting back on the festival circuit globally.
With all the continuing uncertainty over covid, we don’t know where or when that will be but it is fair to say that Cannes 2022 will be very high on our list.
Do like/subscribe/comment…

Comment on Youtube

Comment on Facebook:

The final Festival de Cannes 2021 press release*

(*Un Certain Regard winners are in this piece –

It’s been an exceptional Festival. It was supposed to be, and it’s certainly lived up to its promise. For 12 days, the 74th Festival de Cannes has celebrated our reunion with the cinema as a great international event full of discoveries, encounters and sharing.
On the stage of the Grand Théâtre Lumière, the Master of Ceremonies, Doria Tillier, was joined by the Feature Film Jury chaired by Spike Lee and composed of Mati Diop, Mylène Farmer, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Jessica Hausner, Mélanie Laurent, Kleber Mendonça Filho, Tahar Rahim and Song Kang-ho, for the announcement of the 2021 Awards.

Feature Films
Palme d’or
Titane directed by Julia Ducournau
The award was presented by Sharon Stone and Spike Lee

Julia Ducournau said: “There is so much beauty and emotion to be found in what cannot be pigeonholed. Thank you to the Jury for calling for more diversity in our film experiences and in our lives. And thank you to the Jury for letting the monsters in.

Grand Prix (Jointly)
Ghahreman (A Hero) directed by Asghar Farhadi
Hytti n°6 (compartment n°6) directed by Juho Kuosmanen
The award was presented by the American director Oliver Stone.
Juho Kuosmanen said: “The last two weeks have seemed so long. This film is the story of a relationship between two people, but all stories involve relationships between people.”

Best Director
Leos Carax for Annette
The award was presented by Italian actress and director Valeria Golino.
Ron and Russell Mael, the Sparks duo who wrote the songs for the musical, said: “Eight years ago Ron and I came to Cannes. We met Leos Carax for the first time and thanked him for using one of our songs in his film Holy Motors. He is a great French director, a great filmmaker. We are very touched to have played a role in this project.”

Best Screenplay
Hamaguchi Ryusuke & Takamasa Oe for Drive My Car
The award was presented by British director and screenwriter Andrea Arnold.
Ryusuke said: “I am obviously thinking of the author of the short story that inspired this film, Haruki Murakami.
“I also want to make it clear that I did not write this script alone. Takamasa Oe is a full-time screenwriter, but he constantly encourages me to write. I am very grateful to him. It’s a very long film but he always encouraged me to go through with the project. I would like to thank the people who put the script into pictures. If you liked it, it was well acted and I also want to thank my actors. They contributed greatly to the success of the film.”

Jury Prize (Jointly)

Memoria directed by Apichatpong Weerasethakul
Ha’berech (Ahed’s Knee) directed by Nadav Lapid

The award was presented by British actor Rosamund Pike.
Lapid said: “Before the shooting, the situation was very delicate and complicated. My producer asked me if I thought we could do it: I said yes, but I am a director, I say yes to everything! She chose to believe me, and in that she was irrational and reckless. These are the most beautiful qualities one can have to make films. Thank you to all the irrational and reckless people in the world.”

ACV review of Ahed’s Knee:

Weerasethakul said: “Thank you to our teams in Colombia and Mexico, it is to you that I dedicate this award. Tilda Swinton, Jeanne Balibar, Agnes Brekke… You have given me the greatest gift of the spirit. Tilda, we talked a lot about this dream, and here we are. You are one of the most remarkable human beings, you have taken me under your wing and I’m vert lucky to be with you.”

Best Performance by an Actress
Renate Reinsve in Verdens verste Menneske (The Worst Person in the World) directed by Joachim Trier
The award was presented by South Korean actor Lee Byung-hun.
Reinsve said: “This award goes to so many people. It was a collective effort, everything came together so easily!

Best Performance by an Actor
Caleb Landry Jones in Nitram
directed by Justin Kurzel.
The award was presented by French actress Adèle Exarchopoulos.

Short Films
Palme d’or: Tian Xia Wu Ya (All the Crows in the World) directed by Tang Yi
Special Mention
Céu de agosto (August Sky) directed by Jasmin Tenucci
The Palme d’Or and the Special Mention were presented by Sameh Alaa, member of the Jury for Short Films and Palme d’Or for Short Films 2020, and Mounia Meddour, member of the Un Certain Regard Jury.
Tenucci said: “I am very happy. This is my second short film, I had a limited budget, my producer just turned 25 and my actress is freelance. If you want to work with a great actress, come and ask me!”

Honorary Palme d’or
Just as American actress-director Jodie Foster was awarded an honorary Palme d’Or at the Opening Ceremony on May 6, Italian filmmaker Marco Bellocchio has received the distinction this evening for his exceptional career.
The trophy was presented to him by Paolo Sorrentino.
Bellocchio said: “I would like to share this award with all the people who are part of my film family. I am very moved. I am very happy that you have remembered Michel Piccoli, with whom I worked. He and Anouk Aimée were awarded the acting prize for A Leap in the Dark (Le Saut dans le vide) in 1979. The things I have achieved I have done with imagination and courage. A director has to be able to demonstrate these qualities.”

Caméra d’or (debut feature)

Murina directed by Antoneta Alamat Kusijanović unveiled in the frame of La Quinzaine des Réalisateurs (Directors Fortnight)
The Caméra d’or was presented by Mélanie Thierry, President of the Jury of this First Film Selection.
The winner was represented by the film’s co-writer, Frank Graziano, who said: “The director put all her heart into making the film, she gave birth to her first child yesterday and is watching the ceremony from Dubrovnik.”
Higher Technical Commission (CST)
CST Artist-Technician Prize: Vladislav Opeliants (Russia), chief director of photography, ‘Petrov’s flu’, by Kirill Serebrennikov
CST Young Film Technician Award
Armance Durix, head sound engineer ‘Mi Iubita, Mon Amour’ by Noémie Merlant.

Share Button
Written by Asian Culture Vulture